Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Classic Macs and Mac OS > Word Processing - Appleworks?

Word Processing - Appleworks?
fishguy
Dedicated MacNNer
Mar 6, 2001, 01:48 PM

Hi,

If one is looking for a word proccesor/spreadsheet for home use, is Applworks worth consideration, accepting the tradeoff of features/power for a much much lower sticker price? Is wordperfect totally dead or might it make a comeback with OSX? Finally, is there any other competition out there that I am unaware of?

Thanks

WDL
Mac Enthusiast
Mar 6, 2001, 01:58 PM

I'm an author/publisher (technical manual) selling across Canada and the U.S. successfully.

Created everything, including the cover and spine using AppleWorks. When I went to print
houses to contract volume printing, they thought at first glance that everything was done
using a professional program like Quark - they were amazed when I told them it was done
in AW.

It took two years of 10 to 12 hour days - but it can be done!

AW 5.0.4, in my opinion, is the best bargain out there considering the small footprint on
your hard drive and the relatively low cost. Cannot say the same for AW 6.x which dropped
many translators, and who knows what else.

WDL

Gregg
Mac Elite
Mar 6, 2001, 02:11 PM

I still use Claris Works at home. Whatever I want to do, it can handle. Fancy features are sometimes over rated. Who cares if a "more powerful" program can save you one click in a 5 step process? I use the spreadsheet, word processing, database, and drawing functions, in that order from most to least. It works for me, and, as you say, it's inexpensive.